Tuesday, 30 April 2019

Brownhill House Garden open today

Dear Blogger

The day has dawned bright and sunny in Ruyton XI Towns so why not walk or cycle up to see BROWNHILL HOUSE GARDEN in all its lovely spring colours.

Open for the National Gardens Scheme from 1.30 to 5pm - admission £4 - children free - not suitable for dogs or wheelchairs - teas - plants for sale, proceeds to NGS.

DON`T FORGET - if you can`t come today, just email or phone to arrange a visit from tomorrow until July.

brownhill@eleventowns.co.uk      01939 261 121

Monday, 29 April 2019

Found - a (feathered) Lovebird on the Cliffe

Dear Blogger

Message from Mark Jones.

I've got a very tame lovebird visiting my place on the Cliffe & wondered if anyone in the locality had lost one? Please reply via email windythemiller@yahoo.co.uk


Sunday, 28 April 2019

Booka Bookshop - spring and summer events for children

Dear Blogger

Lots going on at Booka Bookshop.

Meet the Author & Book Signing 
with James Nicol 


Wednesday 22nd May
4.15 - 5.00pm 
Upstairs at Booka

Tickets £3
(redeemable against a copy of any book in The Apprentice Witch series)
Introducing ... THE APPRENTICE WITCH series by James Nicol
We're thrilled to be welcoming best-selling children's author James Nicol to chat about the latest book in his fantastic series, A Witch Come True.

'Arianwyn has fluffed her witch's assessment.

Awarded the dull bronze disc of an apprentice – to the glee of her arch-rival, mean girl Gimma – she's sent to protect the remote, dreary town of Lull. But her new life is far from boring. Turns out Gimma is the pompous mayor's favourite niece – and worse, she opens a magical rift in the nearby forest. As Arianwyn struggles with her spells, a mysterious darkness begins to haunt her – and it's soon clear there's much more than her pride at stake …'

The Apprentice Witch series is an enchanting read, perfect for fans of Diana Wynne Jones, Harry Potter or The Worst Witch.

Come and join James as he chats about his spell-binding books which are soon to become a major new television series.

Don't miss this chance to meet the author, be inspired, and find your new favourite read!

Tickets are £3 (redeemable against a copy of any book in the Apprentice Witch series) 

Call us on 01691 662244,
or pop into the shop to book!

Friday 24th May at 11am
Join Sue as she explores the theme of 'Friends & Family' through some brilliant books for babies and toddlers in
a relaxed and friendly environment.
This is a free drop in session
for parents & toddlers upstairs at Booka - we'd love to see you there!
Dyslexia Friendly Pop-Up Book Club
Wednesday 5th June
4pm Upstairs at Booka

Join us for a FREE after school session as we showcase a range of super readable, accessible books to help instil young readers with a passion for stories!

This event is dyslexia friendly and is suitable for reluctant readers, children with ADHD, Autism and visual stress, English as an additional language readers, and children and parents
needing a reading confidence boost.

We will provide a safe space for young readers to step confidently into choosing the right book for them through showcasing some 'super readable' books and a range of strategies and advice for parents.

Refreshments will be provided, and our children's booksellers will be on hand to offer advice and encouragement.

Suitable for ages 7+

This is a free event, please get in touch on 01691 662244 or pop in and see us for more information and to book your place!
 
Summer Crafternoon
Sunday 16th June
2-3pm Upstairs at Booka


Join Becca for a summer crafternoon and storytime - share in this delightful picture book, then create and name your very own sea monster!

Lula lives in a house next to the beach with her family. When they must leave their home to make way for a highway, Lula is desperate to protect the beach and its wildlife, but how will a small girl like her be able to do it? A chance encounter with a magical creature changes everything . . .

A beautiful picture book about the relationship between humans and nature, celebrating the power that children have and how they can make a difference.


Tickets £3
(includes a 10% off voucher)

Suitable for ages 3+ 


Places are limited.
Call us on 01691 66 22 44 or pop into the shop to book!

 
Thanks to everyone who came to our Easter Crafternoon! We all had egg-sellent fun with an Easter themed story-time, egg hunt and fluffy bunny craft activity.
We hope everyone had a wonderful Easter weekend.
Look out for more details on our upcoming
summer events!


Friday 14th June - Books & Buggies
'Books Everywhere!'
for Independent Bookshop Week


Wednesday 7th August - Creative Writing Workshop
Calling Roald Dahl fans - create terrific heros, revolting villains and exciting plots in your very own phizz-whizzing story!'

Sunday 11th August - Holiday Crafternoon
Storytime & Crafternoon session 

Wednesday 14th August - Eco 'Pop-Up Book Club'
Make a tote-bag from an old t-shirt and learn fun and easy ways to make a difference.

Friday 16th August - Books & Buggies 'Holiday Fun'
Free parent & toddler story time & book showcase

Wednesday 21st August - 'STEM' Science and Invention
Pop-Up Book Club

Creative fun for budding scientists and engineers!


NGS Gardens open near you

Dear Blogger

View this email in your browser
Thank you to all our stalwart supporters who came along to one of our new gardens - The Mount in Bishops Castle today - despite all that Storm Hannah threw at the garden, it was still looking beautiful!  Below are 4 gardens open for the National Garden Scheme in Shropshire next weekend plus Brownhill House which is open this coming Tuesday. Thanks for your continued support.  Best wishes, Allison
Allison Walter, County Organiser, Shropshire National Garden Scheme
allison.walter@ngs.org.uk
A firm favourite with National Garden Scheme visitors is the eclectic garden at Brownhill House, Ruyton XI Towns (between Shrewsbury & Oswestry); open on Tuesday 30th April (1.30-5pm); unique 2 acre hillside garden, masses of spring planting and many humorous features. The garden can be enjoyed from the upper levels but the lower garden is reached by many steps and changes of level down to the River Perry.  Brownhill House is also open "By Arrangement" for groups, of 1 or more, from May to July, so just contact the owners to arrange a visit:  brownhill@eleventowns.co.uk
Opening for the first time for the National Garden Scheme in Shropshire on Sunday 5th May is the expansive estate garden at Longden Manor, Plealey, south of Shrewsbury.  With lots of character and interest: woodland walks and grass paths; humorous topiary; wide variety of specimen trees; rhododendrons and azaleas; wildflowers; panoramic vistas of surrounding countryside; holly garden. Also, children's treasure hunt, giant Jenca, Skittles and Croquet - a great place for all the family to visit. Open from 10am to 4.30pm; homemade teas available..
Another favourite Shropshire garden - Lyndale House at Astley Abbots near Bridgnorth is open on Sunday 5th May.  1½ acre garden which has been lovingly tended for 25yrs. Rose terrace under planted with tulips and alliums. Large lawns interspersed with well planted flower beds. For 2019 revamped pool and waterfall, courtyard with topiary. Masses of tulips in the spring, which all overlooks the Shropshire countryside. Homemade teas.
Another of Shropshire's magnificent estates is also open on Sunday 5th May: Millichope Park at Munslow in the beautiful Corvedale valley.  Historic landscape gardens covering 14 acres with lakes, cascades dating from C18, woodland walks, wildflowers and bluebells.  Violas for sale from Wildegoose Nursery in the restored walled garden; teas available in the delightful garden cafe.  
If you haven't seen the magnificent old horse pond in the garden of Ruthall Manor (Ditton Priors, nr Bridgnorth) then you are in for a treat on Monday 6th May (bank holiday).  Offset by a mature collection of specimen trees, the garden is divided into intimate sections, carefully linked by winding paths. The front lawn flanked by striking borders, extends to a gravel, art garden and ha-ha. Also open by arrangement for groups from April to October:  Contact the owner to arrange a date for your visit: clrk608@btinternet.com
The National Garden Scheme raises money for caring and nursing charities including Macmillan, Marie Curie, Hospices UK, Parkinson's UK, The Queens Nursing Institute, Horatio's Garden, Maggie's Centres and The Carers' Trust, plus our new charity this year, MIND, the mental health charity
https://www.ngs.org.uk/who-we-are/beneficiaries

Saturday, 27 April 2019

Ruyton traffic controle

Dear Blogger

Message from Colin Case.

W A N T E D ! Volunteers.

For various duties to support our Road Safety activities.

Our Safer Roads Group could do with a few more members - this group guides our overall activities in association with our Parish Council.

Our new Speed Indication Devices (SIDs) need mounting and maintaining. Only one is mounted so far - outside School - "looking" up to the Top House. Another three need mounting. And we can move them about.

The SIDs will also need their battery changing - about every two weeks. Pretty straightforward, but the batteries are quite heavy.

And finally our Community SpeedWatch Team could do with a few more members.

Remember that "many hands make light work". And we are ALL concerned about speed and road safety in our Village.

So come and help us DO something about it - everyone welcome in some capacity or other.

eMail me if you are willing to help – colin@rxit.org.uk – but please put "Volunteer" as the subject so I don't think it's spam! Thanks